Whiteflash.be – Today’s Facebook Phishing Scam

24 May

Facebook phishing scam

UPDATE: Check this list of scam sites that I compiled and will be updating when some more sites show up.

I wasn’t affected by last weeks areps.at Facebook phishing scam, but it seems like another one is underway right now. I’ve been getting some messages on my Facebook account with the subject “Look at this” and ”wwww whiteflash be” as the message body. The site whiteflash.be looks like a Facebook log-in page, and is designed to steal your credentials and use them to send similar messages to all your friends.

Mashable mentions some other sites that are also part of the attack:

goldbase.be
greenbuddy.be
silvertag.be
picoband.be

So, if you receive such a message, DO NOT go to those sites.

UPDATE: You can add simplemart.be to the list of culprits, just received one message poiting me to it, with the subject line “Hello” and the text “Check simplemart D0T be, , 575222″. The weird thing here is that when I went I actually went to Facebook to check it (I saw it as an email notification) is it said I had deleted the message, which I didn’t. Maybe the Facebook staff is now onto it.

29 Responses to “Whiteflash.be – Today’s Facebook Phishing Scam”

  1. Shay May 24, 2009 at 8:14 PM #

    Hey,

    Thanks for this – I just got one too.

    Deleted it straight away…..

  2. Stylion May 24, 2009 at 8:44 PM #

    Yep, thanks! Got two today too. Looked like something unusual, and you just confirmed it! :) Thanks again! :)

  3. Matti May 24, 2009 at 8:53 PM #

    Got one too – just today.

    “wwww whiteflash be”

    … was the message body.

  4. Bob May 24, 2009 at 10:02 PM #

    Im really freaked out. I just got a message with that on it! Thank you So much for writing about it!!!!!

  5. babak May 24, 2009 at 10:11 PM #

    thanks bro 4 ur kindly information…

  6. Simon F May 24, 2009 at 10:31 PM #

    Hello.

    I had just received this message, and was stupid enough to follow the link.

    What could happen, and do you have any advice on what to do?

    • Farinha May 24, 2009 at 10:46 PM #

      The advice on Mashable’s post will probably help (http://mashable.com/2009/05/24/goldbasebe-facebook/):

      1. As a precaution, go to your browser settings and clear your cookies.

      2. Change your Facebook password

      3. Make sure your antivirus software is up to date and run a full system scan

  7. Karen May 24, 2009 at 10:59 PM #

    Hey, I received one also and I was suspicious and decided to look in the internet what this was and I found your post! Thanks very much!

  8. awesomeness May 24, 2009 at 11:02 PM #

    I opened th email… what does that mean?

    • Farinha May 24, 2009 at 11:09 PM #

      Just opening the email/message is not harmful at all. Even going to the scam site is probably harmless (considering you’re using a decent browser). The problem starts only when you log-in with your Facebook credentials.

  9. zzzz May 24, 2009 at 11:45 PM #

    Facebook credentials???? u mean the id and password????/
    i did enter the password
    Then realized n changed my pwd immedietly
    what do u think wud happen now????

    • Farinha May 24, 2009 at 11:51 PM #

      The problem is that no one knows exactly what those phishing sites are collecting. They might try to use that same email address and password to access other services online, so I would say the best thing to do is to stop using that password and changing it in every site where you’re using it.

  10. behrad May 25, 2009 at 5:01 AM #

    thank you for good information it was really useful I have received such message too.

  11. Paul May 25, 2009 at 5:25 AM #

    Nice one! Thought it was odd and avoided going to the site full stop! This is a great blog and very useful. Thanks for the effort in keeping people informed and safe from this type of scam!

  12. Roberto May 25, 2009 at 5:58 AM #

    Shoot! I got suckered into this one and actually visited the whiteflash site … do I just wait now for the grim reaper or is there anything I can do? advice appreciated

    • Farinha May 25, 2009 at 7:35 AM #

      If you haven’t logged in to that site there’s nothing to worry about. If you did, there are a few things you can do to minimize the damage. Please read the previous comments to know what you can do.

  13. Lace May 25, 2009 at 10:02 AM #

    hey,… i got this message on my facebook… i didnt click on the whiteflash link but i copied and pasted it to google and found this.. does that count as accepting the virus or whatever it is????

    im so crap at computers lol

    • Farinha May 25, 2009 at 10:04 AM #

      Don’t worry. No harm in opening the message.
      And it’s a good sign you came here first. That means you probably ended up not going to the malicious website, so there’s nothing to worry about :)

  14. Ivy May 25, 2009 at 10:28 AM #

    U jus Saved my day!!!!the site wasn’t opening up ..so I googled and found your post…God bless you…;)x

    • Nazgol May 25, 2009 at 11:13 AM #

      hi,
      the same as Ivy:), I have found this page while insisting to open that site ;)
      thank you very much:)

  15. Lillie May 25, 2009 at 11:04 AM #

    Thanks for the information, had one today, will delete it straight away.
    Take care, Thanks again.

  16. Rob May 25, 2009 at 2:38 PM #

    Cheers for that.

    I get notification of messages sent through to my e-mail address from Facebook so always just click on link in the e-mail to take me through to facebook, log in, see message.

    Done that with this message. Is it the notification link that’s dodgy (i.e. not taking me from my e-mail to facebook) or is it actually clicking on the link once I get into Facebook that’ll do me?

    Cheers anyway.

  17. Bemnet Menna May 25, 2009 at 4:18 PM #

    Thanks bro

  18. name May 25, 2009 at 5:07 PM #

    Thanks for the info, this was helpful indeed!

  19. Stroomf May 25, 2009 at 5:45 PM #

    Damn sneaky – what a crap thing to do!
    I got the link sent to me by my cousin last night, and as I don’t speak to her often I thought her mail was a bit brief.
    Luckily just after I typed in my username I started wondering why a site that has nothing to do with Facebook would need my account details.
    First time I have been exposed to this kind of bulldust – what has the world come to, seriously?

    And as for what people can do with your account details, cos I didn’t think it could do much harm :

    http://www.consumerwarningnetwork.com/2009/02/05/facebook-id-theft-new-phishing-scam/

  20. flame May 26, 2009 at 2:16 AM #

    I received this link too and unfortunately clicked on it but then i realised that this might actually be one of the phishing scams I read about and quickly clicked on the back button of my internet browser a few times. I then reached my initial facebook log in page.
    Problem is I do not know for sure if this was my initial log in page or the one that pops up after clicking on the link as you mentioned. I am hoping for the best that this was my initial log in page. (as i did click on the back button of my internet browser). I then entered my credentials on this page after some time and logged into facebook again.
    I just changed my password after googling and reading your site (which is roughly 12 hrs after clicking on the link). i am hoping all is ok now…does anyone know if i am safe? or do i need to get rid of my facebook account now?

Trackbacks and Pingbacks

  1. Vingers.ru - Another Facebook Phishing Scam | Flour Power - May 26, 2009

    [...] showing up disguised in a new country domain. First it was the .at domain, a couple of days ago the .be domain and now it seems .ru is being [...]

  2. List of Facebook Phishing Scam Sites | Flour Power - May 27, 2009

    [...] Whiteflash.be – Today’s Facebook Phishing Scam [...]

  3. The Google/Facebook Effect - Or How I Got to #1 in Google And Had 6500 Visits in 1 Hour | Flour Power - May 29, 2009

    [...] Whiteflash.be – Today’s Facebook Phishing Scam [...]